Lankapage Logo CP 22 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Parliamentary committee emphasizes following a proper methodology to select beneficiaries for social security schemes
Thu, May 25, 2023, 06:35 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

May 25, Colombo: The Committee on Ways and Means emphasized that a proper methodology should be followed in selecting beneficiaries for social security schemes.

This was taken into discussion at the Committee on Ways and Means Chaired by Patali Champika Ranawaka, Member of Parliament.

The officials informed the committee on the “Aswesuma” welfare scheme to be implemented by the government from the first of July.

Officials pointed out that welfare benefit payments will be made under 04 social categories of transitional, vulnerable, poor and extremely poor, and related allowances will also be given to the disabled, elderly and kidney patients as usual under this scheme. It was revealed that more than 3.7 million applications have been received to receive this allowance and the people who are in real need will be given this allowance from the first day of July. The Chair of the Committee emphasized that the World Bank has indicated that 30 percent of the recipients of the Samurdhi allowance are not eligible for it and the beneficiaries for this scheme should be selected keeping that in mind.

The Committee also pointed out the need for periodic evaluation of the beneficiaries benefiting from the insurance scheme.

Meanwhile, the Chair of the Committee expressed his displeasure over the failure of the Customs Department, the Inland Revenue Department, the Excise Department and the Ministry of Finance to submit the relevant reports on the due date as ordered in the Committee meeting held last week.

The Chair of the Committee emphasized to the officers to take steps to submit relevant reports and views within the stipulated period when called for by a Committee of the Parliament.

State Minister Sashindra Rajapaksa, Members of Parliament Vasudeva Nanayakkara, W. D. J. Seneviratne, Wasantha Yapabandara, Gamini Waleboda, Ali Sabri Raheem, SMM Muszhaaraf, Sanjeeva Edirimanna were present at the Committee meeting held.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
IMF affirms support for Sri Lanka and its people - Deputy Managing Director
-- [15 minutes ago]
President to deliver a special statement on the national transformation roadmap tomorrow
-- [58 minutes ago]
Top IMF official discusses debt restructuring negotiations with President
-- [1 hour and 2 minutes ago]
Fuel prices revised from midnight today
-- [1 hour and 25 minutes ago]
Sri Lanka and China successfully conclude the 12th round of Diplomatic Consultations
-- [1 hour and 43 minutes ago]
Defense State Minister seeks avenues to develop Army Ordnance Industries further
-- [3 hours ago]
Sri Lanka enhances bilateral relations with Thailand
-- [3 hours ago]
Sri Lanka inks agreement with South Korea to develop floating solar power plant
-- [4 hours ago]
Sri Lanka’s Colombo-based inflation eases to 25.2 percent in May 2023
-- [7 hours ago]
John Keells Group’s Crisis Response Initiative records promising impact among multiple communities
-- [8 hours ago]

Copyright © 2000, 2020 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.