Lankapage Logo CP 22 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* COPA discusses the progress on using information technology in government institutions
Wed, May 24, 2023, 09:30 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

May 24, Colombo: COPA which met in March to discuss using information technology for government institutions, established a committee to be led by the Secretary to the Prime Minister Anura Dissanayake to put forth a mechanism with action dates to be presented to the Committee prior to 15th May 2023.

Accordingly, the Committee on Public Accounts met yesterday (23) in Parliament under the chairmanship of Lasantha Alagiyawanna to present the mechanism prepared by the said Committee formed.

Thus, Secretary to the Prime Minister Anura Dissanayake explained in detail the use of information technology in relation to 13 government institutions. The following 13 institutions were considered regarding the use of information technology.

1. Department for Registration of Persons
2. Sri Lanka Customs
3. Import and Export Control Department
4. Department of Agriculture
5. Sri Lanka Standards Institute
6. Motor Transport Department
7. Excise Department
8. Inland Revenue Department
9. Department of Registrar of Companies
10. Registrar General's Department
11. Food Control Unit, Ministry of Health
12. Colombo Municipal Council
13. Ministry of Finance, Economic Stabilization and National Policy

COPA discussed at length the matters arising when using information technology, updating and maintenance of the software used. Special attention was paid to the use of information technology in the Department of Registration of Persons and the software expected to be used there.

The Sri Lanka Information Technology Agency (ICTA) also explained the contribution of their organization for this purpose. furthermore, a group of officials were also connected through Zoom technology.

State Ministers Diana Gamage, Chamara Sampath Dasanayake, Members of Parliament Niroshan Perera, J. C. Alawathuwala, Dr. Major Pradeep Undugoda, Weerasumana Weerasinghe, Manjula Dissanayake, Dr. Harini Amarasuriya were present at the Committee meeting.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
President to deliver a special statement on the national transformation roadmap tomorrow
-- [1 minutes ago]
Top IMF official discusses debt restructuring negotiations with President
-- [6 minutes ago]
Fuel prices revised from midnight today
-- [28 minutes ago]
Sri Lanka and China successfully conclude the 12th round of Diplomatic Consultations
-- [46 minutes ago]
Defense State Minister seeks avenues to develop Army Ordnance Industries further
-- [2 hours ago]
Sri Lanka enhances bilateral relations with Thailand
-- [2 hours ago]
Sri Lanka inks agreement with South Korea to develop floating solar power plant
-- [3 hours ago]
Sri Lanka’s Colombo-based inflation eases to 25.2 percent in May 2023
-- [6 hours ago]
John Keells Group’s Crisis Response Initiative records promising impact among multiple communities
-- [7 hours ago]
President emphasizes on modernizing the agricultural sector
-- [7 hours ago]

Copyright © 2000, 2020 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.