Lankapage Logo CP 22 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Term of office of 344 Local Government Institutions ends midnight today
Sun, Mar 19, 2023, 11:09 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Mar 19, Colombo: The term of office of 344 local authorities will end at midnight on Sunday 19th March and their powers will be placed under the Commissioners from that day.

Accordingly, the official vehicles given to the mayors and chairmen of those institutions should be returned.

Also, the Ministry of Public Administration, Home Affairs and Provincial Councils and Local Governments has stated that it has been decided to pay the allowances paid to the members of the local government institutions only until March 19.

According to the Local Authorities Act, elections should have been held before today and new members should have been appointed. However, since elections couldn’t have been held before the term of office expire, the power of the local authorities will end after midnight today (19).

Accordingly, the power of the 29 municipal councils will be transferred to the municipal commissioners, and the power of the 36 urban councils and the 275 local councils will be transferred to the secretaries of those institutions.

A discussion was held between Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena, who is also the subject Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Governments, and the Governors of all nine provinces at Temple Trees on 14th March regarding the future activities and maintenance of 340 Local Government Institutions when the term of office of those institutions ends on March 19th midnight.

The parties discussed about providing the necessary facilities to the people to fulfill their needs without any problem.

Governors Tikiri Kobbekaduwa (Sabaragamuwa), Wasantha Karannagoda (North Western), M.J.M. Muzammil (Uwa), Mahipala Herath (North Central), Willy Gamage (Southern), Lalith U. Gamage (Central), Anuradha Yahampath (Eastern) Roshan Gunathilake (Western), Jeevan Thyagaraja (Northern), Secretary to the Prime Minister Anura Dissanayake, Public Administration Secretary Neil Hapuhinna and Prime Minister’s Legal Adviser Dr. Jayatissa de Costa participated in the discussion.

Although discussions are being held to hold the Local government elections on April 25, there is still no certainty regarding that date.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Minister requests IGP to conduct an investigation into strikers forcibly entering oil storage terminals
-- [2 hours ago]
Ministry of Education coordinated Committee to prepare textbooks on Sexual and Reproductive Health
-- [3 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Parliament holds the first on-site international training on evaluation for Asia Pacific region Parliamentarians and Parliament research staff
-- [3 hours ago]
Sri Lanka’s trade deficit narrows significantly in February 2023 due to larger decline in import expenditure
-- [4 hours ago]
Sri Lanka’s Colombo-based inflation eases to 50.3 percent in March 2023
-- [4 hours ago]
COPE queries the Vocational Training Authority on issues raised in Auditor General’s report
-- [7 hours ago]
No public servant can refuse to perform official duties - Prime Minister
-- [7 hours ago]
People’s Leasing Company presents its European Award for ‘Best Practice 2022’ to the President
-- [8 hours ago]
No more safe houses at embassies for unregistered female migrant workers, SLBFE informs
Consideration of the petitions against the Finance Secretary for contempt of court on May 22

Copyright © 2000, 2020 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.