Lankapage Logo CP 22 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* National Council sub-committee discusses on engaging universities for policy formulation
Mon, Nov 28, 2022, 11:54 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Nov 28, Colombo: A preliminary discussion was held in Parliament pertaining to the future plan of getting support of the university academic staff through Vice-Chancellors for the purpose of formulating national policies.

This was decided at the National Council sub-committee on identifying short and medium- term programs related to National Policy held recently, chaired by Namal Rajapaksa, Member of Parliament.

The meeting which was held with the presence of Professor Sampath Amaratunga, Chairman of the University Grants Commission, and a group of lecturers including vice chancellors of universities across the country, were able to thus arrive at a preliminary agreement regarding the basic structure identified by the sub-committee on identifying short and medium-term programs related to National Policy.

As a preamble to this program, Professor Krishan Deheragoda gave an explanation to the Committee on the main areas where policy preparations should focus on. The university vice-chancellors and lecturers who were present at the occasion expressed their views on how policies should be prepared in this country.

Accordingly, it was decided to prepare basic structure identified by the sub-committee on identifying short and medium-term programs related to National Policy together with university professors in accordance with each identified field given the priority and to move ahead.

Addressing the Committee, Namal Rajapaksa, chairman of the Subcommittee said that they wish to propose to the National Council to establish a separate bureau for policy formulation in Sri Lanka and to implement the required legal changes through Parliament. Dr. Naseer Ahmed, State Minister Dr. Suren Raghavan, Members of Parliament A. L. M. Athaullah, Pavithradevi Wanniarachchi, Wajira Abeywardana and Sagara Kariyawasam were present at the Committee meeting held.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Two arrested for videoing the area around Parliament
-- [2 hours ago]
Government takes action to remove chairman of the Public Utility Commission
-- [2 hours ago]
Support from Japan to clean Beira Lake
Support from Japan to clean Beira Lake
Former UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon to visit Sri Lanka
Foreign Minister Ali Sabry concludes official visit to Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Another member of the National Election Commission receives death threats
Sri Lanka President warns of falling into crisis again if government programs disrupted
Government to release 100 acres of lands in the North to the original owners
Power regulator rejects a request from the Ceylon Electricity Board for power interruption

Copyright © 2000, 2020 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.