Lankapage Logo CP 22 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* COPE decides to take sworn statements from officials called before COPE
Wed, Jun 22, 2022, 11:57 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

June 22, Colombo: At a special meeting held Tuesday, the parliamentary Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) has decided to take an oath at the commencement of the statements made by the officials when summoned before the Committee.

Accordingly, officials who will be appearing before COPE in future, will have to take an oath at the beginning of the Committee meeting that their statements are accurate and truthful.

This Special Meeting of the Committee on Public Enterprises was chaired by the (Prof.) Charitha Herath, Member of Parliament where several special decisions were taken.

The Chairman of COPE also tabled the statement withdrawal letter dated 11.06.2022 pertaining to the statement made on 10.06.2022 at COPE by the former CEB Chairman Mr. M.M.C. Ferdinando.

COPE Chairman Prof. Charitha Herath stated, “Today we considered the letter sent to COPE by the Chairman of the CEB on 06.11.2022. An important discussion took place in accordance to that letter. Today, I would like to draw your attention to certain points in this letter that has been submitted as an appendix to it. Accordingly, the decision of COPE is that the former Chairman Mr. M.M.C. Ferdinando will be summoned before the Committee again to hold discussions with him and thereby re-determine the contents of this letter and then take the decision regarding expunging the respective contents of his testimony as requested.”

Accordingly, it was decided to summon Mr. M.M.C. Ferdinando before COPE on 23.06.2022 at 11.00 am. It was also decided to hold a special meeting on July 25th based on the expert reports on the progress of SriLankan Airlines.

Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Jagath Pushpakumara, Anura Dissanayake, Dr. Harsha de Silva, Patali Champika Ranawaka, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, (Dr.) Sarath Weerasekera, Jayantha Samaraweera, S.M. Marikkar, Nalin Bandara Jayamaha, Indika Anuruddha Herath, (Dr.) Nalaka Godahewa, Eran Wickramaratne, Madhura Withanage and Premnath C. Dolawatte were present at this special meeting.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Flash Digital Account teams up with online pharmacy Flash Health for convenient payment
-- [40 minutes ago]
HNB ‘Oba Venuwen Api’ initiative donates vital medicines to hospitals
-- [6 hours ago]
Hayleys Fabric natural mahogany dye listed on Top 10 innovations for ISPO Textrends 2024
-- [6 hours ago]
CID probes illegal water release from Randenigala, Rantambe reservoirs
-- [7 hours ago]
Sri Lanka to receive four fuel ships from India next month
-- [7 hours ago]
International operations at Jaffna International Airport to resume from July 1
-- [8 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Attorney General requests court to dismiss case against Russian Aeroflot flight
Registrar General’s Department, post offices curtail services due to fuel crisis
Lanka IOC restricts sale of petrol
Five failed finance companies to be liquidated

Copyright © 2000, 2020 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.