Lankapage Logo CP 22 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Over 40 government MPs become independent, Deputy Speaker resigns
Tue, Apr 5, 2022, 12:22 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Apr 05, Colombo: Forty-Three Members of Parliament, who were representing the government in parliament have decided to function independently.

The group of MPs decided to leave the government includes eleven members of ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP). SLPP Parliamentarian Anura Priyadharshana Yapa said 11 MPs will function as an independent group in Parliament.

The 14 parliamentarians of Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), which was a coalition party of the government, have decided to remain independent in parliament. The party Monday decided to withdraw from the government.

The others include 16 members from other government political parties and two members from the Ceylon Workers’ Congress.

The two members of the Ceylon Workers' Congress, Jeevan Thondaman and Maradapandi Rameshwaram have also decided to serve as independent members of parliament. Jeevan Thondaman has also resigned from the post of State Minister of Estate Housing & Community Infrastructure. Meanwhile, Deputy Parliament Speaker Ranjith Siyambalapitiya has resigned from his post.

In a letter to the President, MP Siyambalapitiya said he decided to resign from the position following a decision made by the Sri Lanka Freedom Party Parliamentary Group to remain independent.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
IGP orders videotaping rioters at filling stations
-- [1 hour and 35 minutes ago]
Speaker endorses the certificate on 3 Bills including Industrial Disputes (Special Provisions) Bill
-- [2 hours ago]
CA Sri Lanka strengthens taxation profession with 57 new Certified Tax Advisors
-- [2 hours ago]
Dr. Sanjiva Weerawarana, WSO2 Founder and CEO, receives 2022 IEEE TCSVC Research Innovation Award
-- [2 hours ago]
Petrol Ship due to arrive today further delayed
IMF delegation briefs the President on progress of the discussions
Dhammika Perera sworn in as Minister of Investment Promotion
Envoys of European countries pledge to provide assistance to Sri Lanka
The ‘Land for All’ program begins
Government’s focus on directing public servants to private sector employment

Copyright © 2000, 2020 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.