Lankapage Logo CP 22 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Committee on High Posts approve appointment of 08 Secretaries to Ministries
Wed, Nov 24, 2021, 08:18 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Nov 24, Colombo: The parliamentary Committee on High Posts has granted approval to the appointment of eight Secretaries to Ministries.

General (Retd.) Kamal Gunaratne, Secretary to the Ministry of Defense was among the Secretaries to the Ministries who received approval of the Committee on High Posts chaired by Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Speaker of Parliament, yesterday (23).

Furthermore, Mr. W.H. Karunaratna as the Secretary to the Ministry of Development Coordination and Monitoring, Mr. D. L. P. R. Abeyratne as the Secretary to the State Ministry of Development of Minor Crops including Sugarcane, Maize, Cashew, Pepper, Cinnamon, Cloves, Betel Related Industries and Export Promotion, Mrs. D. N. Liyanage as the Secretary to the Ministry of Skills Development, Vocational Education, Research and Innovation have also received approval for their appointments.

Appointments of Mr. M. A. B. V Banadaranayake as the Secretary to the State Ministry of Rattan, Brass, Pottery, Furniture and Industrial Promotion, Mrs. K. A. D. R Nishanthi Jayasinghe as the Secretary to the State Ministry of National Heritage Performing Arts and Rural Arts Promotion and Mr. D. P. G Kumarasiri appointed as the Secretary to the State Ministry of Estate Housing and Community Infrastructure were also approved by the Committee.

The Committee on High Posts also granted its approval for the appointments of Mr. M. N. Ranasinghe a state Secretary to the State Ministry of Promoting the Production and Regulating the Supply of Organic Fertilizer, and Paddy and Grains, Organic Food, Vegetables, Fruits, Chilies, Onion and Potato Cultivation Promoting, Seed Production and Advanced Technology, Agriculture.

The Committee also approved the appointment of Mr. Sirimal Perera as the Secretary to the State Ministry of Urban Development, Waste Disposal and Community cleanliness.

Ministers Chamal Rajapaksa, Dinesh Gunawardena, Douglas Devananda, (Dr.) Bandula Gunawardena, Udaya Gammanpila, State Ministers Vidura Wickramanayaka, (Dr.) Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Members of Parliament Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, John Seneviratne, Thalatha Athukorala, Dharmalingam Siddharthan were present at this Committee meeting.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Internet use in Sri Lanka has grown due to pandemic, but slower than peers, survey shows
-- [38 minutes ago]
Petition filed seeking an inquiry into gas cylinder explosion accidents
-- [53 minutes ago]
Coronavirus update: 757 new COVID-19 cases identified Wednesday, total rises to 569,928
-- [1 hour and 12 minutes ago]
Sri Lankan leaders express condolences over the sudden demise of Indian military chief
-- [1 hour and 50 minutes ago]
Chinese ship carrying organic fertilizer leaving Sri Lanka, court told
-- [2 hours ago]
Chinese firm files lawsuit against Sri Lanka over the rejected $49.7m fertilizer deal
-- [2 hours ago]
Sri Lanka President committed to work with BIMSTEC members to ensure regional cooperation efforts
-- [2 hours ago]
Sri Lanka reports 28 Covid-19 deaths on Wednesday, toll rises to 14,533
-- [3 hours ago]
South Korea grants Sri Lanka US$ 4 million to strengthen forensic drug analysis capabilities
-- [3 hours ago]
Navy seizes over 23 kg of Kerala cannabis in Point Pedro

Copyright © 2000, 2020 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.