Lankapage Logo CP 21 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* PM appoints Advisory Committee to protect archaeological heritage
Thu, Jul 30, 2020, 09:32 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

July 30, Colombo: Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa as the Minister of Buddhasasana Cultural and Religious Affairs has appointed an Archaeological Advisory Committee in order to obtain assistance to protect archeological heritage throughout the country.

Prime Minister Rajapaksa handed over the relevant appointment letters to the members of the committee at Temple Trees Wednesday (29), a statement released by the Prime minister’s Office said.

The Advisory Committee was appointed by the Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa in his capacity as the Minister of Buddhasasana Culture and Religious Affairs in accordance with the powers of the Antiquities (Amendment) Act.

The committee is expected to provide advice regarding all archaeology activities in the country, as well as to provide advice on special projects aimed at renovating such sites, policy making, and obtaining necessary assistance to promote archeological sites, and observation and development activities, the statement added.

Following are the 20 members appointed to the advisory committee:

1.Anunayake of the Asgiri Chapter Ven. Wedaruwe Dharmakeerthi Sri Ratanapala Thero
2. Chief Sanganayake of Dhakshina Lanka Ven. Metaramba Hemarathana Thero
3. Viharadhikari of Ruwanweli Maha Chaithyaramaya Ven. Pallegama Hemarathana Thero
4. Archaeological Chakravarthi Ven. Ellawala Medhananda Thero
5. Ven. Alikewela Seelananda Thero
6. Ven. Yatigaloluwe Wimalarathana Thero
7. Chief Incumbent of Somawathi Rajamaha Vihara Ven. Pahamune Sri Sumangala Thero
8. Professor Ven. Induragare Dhammarathana Thero
9. Dr. Ven. Maduruoye Dhammissara Thero
10. Former Director-General of Archaeology Dr. Siran Deraniyagala
11. Archaeologist Professor T. G. Kulatunga
12. Dr. Gamini Wijesuriya
13. Prof. Nimal De Silva
14. Engineer Gemunu Silva
15. Professor Anura Manatunga
16. Architect Ashley De Vos
17. Professor  Raj Somadeva
18. W.M.S. Weerasekara
19. Sirinimal Laddusinghe
20. Professor Munidasa Padmasiri Ranaweera


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Fitch Affirms Hatton National Bank at ‘AA+(lka)’; Outlook Negative
-- [3 hours ago]
Election Chief expects first result of election tomorrow afternoon
-- [4 hours ago]
Couple on motorcycle seriously injured in collision with election candidate’s Defender vehicle
-- [5 hours ago]
Organized crime gang leader ‘SF Lokka’ killed in shooting
-- [5 hours ago]
In Pictures: President, party leaders cast their vote in Sri Lanka General Election
-- [6 hours ago]
Sri Lanka voting at General Election ends peacefully, counting of ballots tomorrow
-- [7 hours ago]
Sri Lanka keen to revitalize bilateral trade and investment with Germany
-- [7 hours ago]
Two Sri Lankans injured in Beirut explosion, minor damages to the Embassy
-- [7 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Election monitor deploys 5,000 observers for the General Election
Sri Lanka records negative economic growth of 1.6% in 1st quarter of 2020

Copyright © 2000, 2020 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.