Lankapage Logo CP 20 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* No change in UNP leadership - MP Vajira Abeywardena
Wed, Jan 15, 2020, 10:24 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Jan 15, Colombo: There will be no change in the leadership of the United National Party (UNP) and the party leader, former Prime Minister Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe will continue to function as the Leader of the party, Parliamentarian Vajira Abeywardena said in Colombo.

Speaking at a press conference held at the UNP headquarters Sirikotha today (15), Parliamentarian Vajira Abeywardena said Ranil Wickremesinghe has been elected as the leader at party convention convened according to the party constitution, and therefore, the party leadership could not be determined by a meeting of the Parliamentary Group.

He said that according to the party constitution, the parliamentary group has no power to change or remove the party leadership.

MP Abeywardena stressed that the parliamentary group elected after the general election and members of the party's main working committee must work together to take the party forward.

He said that not making any change to the leadership of the UNP at this time is an important decision to be taken for the betterment of the party.

The UNP parliamentarian further said that whatever meetings held about the leadership, there would be no new decision and that all forces acting outside the party constitution would be defeated.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Sri Lanka gets ready to start schools for all grades tomorrow
-- [7 hours ago]
SJB requests defeated UNP members to join the party to embark on a new journey
-- [8 hours ago]
Sri Lanka’s Mattala International Airport commences cargo flights
-- [9 hours ago]
SLFP to support President’s future plans
Chinese Premier congratulates Sri Lanka’s new PM on taking office
Colombo Mayor Rosy Senanayake’s husband passes away
Three including a woman arrested with over Rs. 1.5 million worth drugs
Names of the 196 elected members gazetted
Mahinda Rajapaksa sworn in as Prime Minister of Sri Lanka for fourth time
HRW expresses concern ove ncreasing suppression of dissent in Sri Lanka following election victory

Copyright © 2000, 2020 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.