Lankapage Logo CP 19 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Former MP Shantha Bandara and two new UPFA members to be sworn in as MPs today
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 10:37 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Sept 17, Colombo: Two new parliamentarians and a former parliamentarian are due to be sworn in as Members of Parliament when the parliament conveners this afternoon.

Shantha Bandara, DB Herath and Manoj Sirisena have been appointed as National List MPs of the United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA).

UPFA national list MP Shantha Bandara resigned last month in order to fill the seat left vacant by the death of Kurunegala district MP Salinda Dissanayake.

However, the Election Commission gazetted the name of UPFA member H. M. D. B. Herath to fill the vacant seat.

Meanwhile former Southern Provincial Council member Manoj Sirisena is nominated to fill the vacancy created due to the death of parliamentarian Chandrasiri Gajadheera.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Ballot papers for postal voting in the Presidential Election issued
-- [15 minutes ago]
Chennai-Jaffna air services to commence from November 01
-- [55 minutes ago]
Takeover of Rupavahini under Defense Ministry legal, AG tells court
-- [1 hour and 27 minutes ago]
Two PS members and nine others arrested over election violence
-- [1 hour and 41 minutes ago]
Amnesty calls on Sri Lanka Presidential candidates to prioritize key human rights issues
-- [2 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Central Bank FIU enters into an agreement with INTERPOL National Central Bureau
-- [2 hours ago]
A Real-time and Online Payment Facility for BOI customers
-- [3 hours ago]
BOI signs US$ 10 mn investment to manufacture concrete electric poles in Sri Lanka
-- [3 hours ago]
Japan provides over $ 1.26 million to support humanitarian demining in Northern Sri Lanka
-- [3 hours ago]
CWC pledges support to Gotabhaya Rajapaksa

Copyright © 2000, 2016 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.