Lankapage Logo CP 19 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Sri Lanka's interim cabinet under new President sworn-in
Fri, Nov 22, 2019, 10:32 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Nov 22, Colombo: The interim cabinet of the new government headed by the new President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa was sworn in today. Accordingly, 16 ministers including Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa were sworn in this morning.

The 16 law makers will serve as ministers in a caretaker government until the next general election in March 2020.

Following are the Ministers and their portfolios:

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa - Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs, Policy Development, Buddha Sasana, Cultural, Water Supply & Urban Development, Housing Facilities

Nimal Siripala de Silva - Minister of Justice, Human Rights & Legal Reforms

Arumugam Thondaman - Minister of Community Empowerment & Estate Infrastructure

Dinesh Gunawardene - Minister of Foreign Relations, Skills Development, Employment & Labor Relations

Douglas Devananda - Minister of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources

Pavithra Wanniarachchi - Minister of Women & Child Affairs, Social Security, Health & Indigenous Medicine

Bandula Gunawardene - Minister of Information & Communications Technology, Higher Education, Technology & Innovations

Janaka Bandara Tennakoon - Minister of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils & Local Government

Chamal Rajapaksa - Minister of Mahaweli Development, Agriculture &Trade

Dullas Alahapperuma - Minister of Education, Sports and Youth Affairs

Johnston Fernando - Minister of Roads, Highways, Ports and Shipping

Wimal Weerawansa - Minister of Small and Medium Scale Enterprise Development, Industry and Supply Management

Mahinda Amaraweera - Minister of Passenger Transport Management, Power & Energy

S.M. Chandrasena - Minister of Environment and Wildlife, Lands and Land Development

Romesh Pathirana - Minister of Plantation Industries and Export Agriculture

Prasanna Ranatunga - Minister of Industrial Export Investment Promotion, Tourism and Aviation


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::