Lankapage Logo CP 19 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Sri Lanka include 10 more countries for On Arrival Visa service stopped after Easter Sunday bombings
Wed, Jul 24, 2019, 04:30 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

July 24, Colombo: Sri Lanka on Wednesday announced that free visa-on-arrival service suspended in the aftermath of the Easter Sunday bombings would be granted to 10 additional countries in the near future.

With the aim of attracting more tourists to Sri Lanka the Cabinet of Ministers have previously granted approval to implement a pilot project to issue on-arrival Visa service on a free basis to visitors from Thailand, EU, UK, USA, Japan, Australia, South Korea, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Malaysia, Switzerland, Cambodia.

Under the planned visa facilitation pilot program, which Sri Lanka announced in March, nationals of 39 countries were supposed to receive visas upon their arrival to Sri Lanka during the low tourist season, starting May 1. The visa on arrival pilot program was part of a larger initiative to increase tourist arrivals to the country during the six month off-season period from May to October. However, the Cabinet decided to temporarily suspend its plans to grant visas on arrival to citizens of 39 countries given the security situation that arose following the terrorist attack on Easter Sunday.

With the aim of promoting the influx of tourists as the situation in the country has returned to normal, the cabinet has granted approval to issue on-arrival visa to tourists from Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Philippines, Russia, China, India and England in addition to the previously listed countries.

The proposal made by the Minister of Tourism Development, Wildlife and Christian Religious Affairs, to proceed with the pilot project to issue a free visa on arrival, was approved by the Cabinet.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::