Lankapage Logo CP 19 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Presidential Commission commences receiving complaints of corruption in state institutions during unity government
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 11:40 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Feb 08, Colombo: The Commission of Inquiry appointed by President Maithripala Sirisena to investigate into corruption and malpractice committed under the Yahapalana government in the period from 15 January 2015 to 31 December 2018 has commenced accepting complaints.

The Commission is tasked with inviting complaints from public on serious acts of corruption, fraud, criminal breach of trust, criminal misappropriation of property, cheating and abuse or misuse of power or authority, State resources and privileges at state institutions during the period 15th January, 2015 to 31st December, 2018 and conducting swift, impartial inquiries into the complaints.

The Commission is also assigned to identify persons who have been or are responsible in terms of the law for committing such offences, acts of wrongdoing, and abuse or misuse of power or authority, State resources and privileges and Identify and collect evidence available with regard to such offences.

The written complaints or relevant information can be directed to the commission in all three official languages - Sinhala, Tamil or English- to the Secretary, Presidential Commission of Inquiry, Room 210, Block 02, Second Floor, Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall, Bauddhaloka Mawatha, Colombo 07.

All complaints must be submitted on or before 07 March 2019 and the name and address of the person providing such complaints or information, the National Identity Card Number or the Passport Number should be included in all presentations. And if he/she does not wish to reveal his/her identity, he/she may also be asked to do so.

The institutions and individuals who are willing to make oral submissions to the Commission can call 011-2665382 and set up an appointment or before 07 March 2019.

The five-member Commission headed by retired High Court judge Upali Abeyratne was appointed by the President on 17 January. The other members include retired High Court Judge Sarojini Kusala Weerawardena, retired Auditor General P.A. Pemathilaka, former Ministry Secretary Lalith R. de Silva and former DIG M. K. D. Wijaya Amarasinghe

The Commission of Inquiry is scheduled to submit the first interim report of the Commission to the President within three months and the final report with conclusions and recommendations within six months.

Relevant Gazette notification


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Japan provides Human Resources Development Scholarships for the Sri Lankan public sector
-- [10 minutes ago]
Sri Lanka trade deficit considerably narrows in May 2019 as imports decline and exports increase
-- [8 hours ago]
Cheese and Wine are celebrated at Alliance Francaise of Kotte as part of French Spring Festival
-- [9 hours ago]
BOI inks agreement with edotco to equip Sri Lanka with Smart City Solutions
-- [9 hours ago]
Two youths attempting to take selfie gone missing in sea
Minister requests trade unions to postpone postal strike until Friday
Term of Presidential Commission probing corruption and fraud extended
Paddy purchasing in Northern Province begins
UN expert to visit Sri Lanka to assess rights to freedom of peaceful assembly and of association
Sri Lanka postal workers to launch 48-hour strike from 4 pm today

Copyright © 2000, 2016 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.