Lankapage Logo CP 19 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Sri Lanka Parliament passes motion to cut salaries for government ministers
Fri, Nov 30, 2018, 12:52 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Nov 30, Colombo: Sri Lanka's parliament on Friday passed a motion to ban release of state funds to the cabinet, state and deputy ministers of the purported government of President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa.

The motion passed with 122 parliamentarians in favor parliament and 0 against. UNP MP Sujeewa Senasinghe was absent in the House. The government parliamentarians boycotted the vote.

The motion prevents Ministry secretaries from approving any money from state funds to pay for the salaries and other emoluments of Ministers, State Ministers, Deputy Ministers and their personal staff.

When there is no accepted government, Parliament has full control over Public Finance as mandated in Article 148 of the Constitution.

The motion signed by MPs Rajitha Senaratne, Ravi Karunanayake, Champika Ranawaka, Arjuna Ranatunga, Mano Ganesan and Jayampathy Wickramaratne states that the House on the 16th November has accepted the official statement made by the Speaker that in terms of the no-confidence motion against the government, the Cabinet of Ministers appointed after the 26th of October stood dissolved.

"The Parliament resolves that from 15 November 2018, Secretaries to any and all Ministries have no authority to approve any payment of monies drawn from the funds of the Republic to pay for the salaries and other emoluments of Ministers, State Ministers, Deputy Ministers and their personal staff and are also prohibited from defraying expenses incurred in foreign travel, internal air travel including use of helicopters on behalf of the above Ministers and any person taking any action in violation of this resolution will be dealt with according to law," the motion stated.

A separate motion was passed in parliament on Thursday with 123 MPs of 225-member parliament voting in favor to suspend funds to the Office of the Prime Minister.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Colombo Port's container volume increases by 9 percent in April 2019
-- [4 hours ago]
CID requests people to come forward with any complaints against arrested OB-GYN doctor
-- [4 hours ago]
Boosa Prison security strengthened as high-profile inmates transferred to the prison
-- [5 hours ago]
Sri Lanka state-owned reinsurer extends insurance cover for tourists up to Rs. 100 million
-- [6 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Navy arrests two persons with over 126 kg of Kerala cannabis
-- [6 hours ago]
Rs.25 million from the Colombo Municipal Council to renovate St. Anthony's Shrine
Sri Lanka Navy arrests 41 illegal migrants bound for Australia
India's Kerala coast on high alert after reports of an ISIS boat setting off from Sri Lanka
Doctor arrested in Kurunegala over suspicious assets handed over to CID
Sri Lanka Human Rights Commission requests UGC to ensure non-discrimination in institutions of higher education

Copyright © 2000, 2016 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.