Lankapage Logo CP 19 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Sri Lanka Tamil party informs President that they support a UNF government
Thu, Nov 29, 2018, 10:12 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Nov 29, Colombo: Sri Lanka's main Tamil party, Tamil National Alliance (TNA) has informed President Maithripala Sirisena that the party will support the restoration of a government headed by the United National Front (UNF), of which the United National Party (UNP) is the main constituent.

In a letter signed by 14 parliamentarians of ITAK, the single largest party in TNA informed the President that the UNF nominee for Prime Minister will now have the support of 117 MPs.

The party pointed out to the President that the MP Mahinda Rajapaksa appointed as Prime Minister on the 26th of October has not been able to prove that he commands the confidence of Parliament though one month has lapsed since his appointment and the Parliament has met several times during this period.

Furthermore, no-confidence motions against the MP as Prime Minister have been passed in Parliament on 14th and 16th November and confirmed by 122 Members of Parliament.

The TNA lawmakers said the view of the majority of MPs on the issue of whether MP Rajapaksa commands the Confidence of Parliament to be the Prime Minister has been negative and has been demonstrated beyond doubt.

The Tamil party said this situation should not continue.

In the circumstances to ensure that a Member of Parliament is able to command the confidence of Parliament as Prime Minister, the MPs of Illankai Thamil Arasu Kadchi (ITAK) said they will support the restoration of a Government headed by the UNF as it existed prior to 26th October.

The Appointment of a nominee of the UNF who in the opinion of the President is able to command the confidence of Parliament as Prime Minister, the Tamil National Alliance said.

The letter was signed by the Leader of TNA, MP R Sampanthan, MPs Mavai Senathirajah, M A Sumanthiran, D Sidhathan, S Shritharan, E Saravanapavan, Selvam Adaikalanathan, I Charles Nirmalanathan, Shanthi Sriskandarasa, S Sivamohan, Seenithamby Yoheswaran, G Sirineshan, K Kodeeswaran and K Thurairatnesingam.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Colombo Port's container volume increases by 9 percent in April 2019
-- [4 hours ago]
CID requests people to come forward with any complaints against arrested OB-GYN doctor
-- [4 hours ago]
Boosa Prison security strengthened as high-profile inmates transferred to the prison
-- [5 hours ago]
Sri Lanka state-owned reinsurer extends insurance cover for tourists up to Rs. 100 million
-- [6 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Navy arrests two persons with over 126 kg of Kerala cannabis
-- [6 hours ago]
Rs.25 million from the Colombo Municipal Council to renovate St. Anthony's Shrine
Sri Lanka Navy arrests 41 illegal migrants bound for Australia
India's Kerala coast on high alert after reports of an ISIS boat setting off from Sri Lanka
Doctor arrested in Kurunegala over suspicious assets handed over to CID
Sri Lanka Human Rights Commission requests UGC to ensure non-discrimination in institutions of higher education

Copyright © 2000, 2016 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.