Lankapage Logo CP 19 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* President abolishes Cabinet Committee on Economic Management
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 10:41 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Mar 21, Colombo: Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena has decided to abolish the Cabinet Committee on Economic Management (CCEM) headed by the Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Local media reported that the President has taken this decision at a special cabinet meeting held on Tuesday (20).

The CCEM was established to make recommendations to the Cabinet of Ministers on implementation of laws and related subjects concerning economic affairs, monetary and financial policy, national investment program, facilitating private sector investments, investments and economic development of the country.

Following the establishment of the National Economic Council the President on an earlier occasion has advised the cabinet to disband the CCEM.

Accordingly the cabinet has discussed the matter and the President has reportedly pointed out that most of the decisions reached through the CCEM had failed citing the Volkswagen facility in Kuliyapitiya and Horana tire factory, which were proposed by the CCEM.

During local government election campaigning in January this year the President said he will take responsibility of economic management in order to reduce cost of living burden of the people. He said the UNP was allowed to manage the economy according to their choice for the past three years and people have serious economic problems.

The President said he appointed the National Economic Council for economic management under his leadership and will take responsibility to strengthen the national economy.

The CCEM headed by the Premier also included former Sri Lanka Administrative Service Officer R. Paskaralingam, former Treasury Secretary Charitha Ratwatte, Secretary to the Finance Ministry Dr R.H.S. Samaratunga, Secretary to the Prime Minister Saman Ekanayake and Ministers Dr Sarath Amunugama and Malik Samarawickrama.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
John Keels Properties and DFCC partner to offer special home loans for TRI-ZEN buyers
-- [9 hours ago]
UNP supports JVP's move to abolish executive presidency
-- [9 hours ago]
UNF MPs Malik Samarawickrama, Rishad Bathiudeen, Mano Ganesan not to accept ministerial portfolios
UK welcomes resolution of the political situation in Sri Lanka, commends judiciary
Will Mahinda Rajapaksa be deprived of his parliamentary seat?
Commonwealth, China, Canada welcome peaceful resolution of Sri Lanka's political crisis
ICC fines Sri Lanka bowler Lahiru Kumara for use of an audible obscenity
Three UPFA MPs crossover to Government
Mahinda Rajapaksa appointed as the Opposition Leader of Sri Lanka parliament
High profile US delegation visits Sri Lanka's Port of Colombo

Copyright © 2000, 2016 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.