Lankapage Logo CP 19 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* OMP meets Constitutional Council for guidance on its activities and future directions
Wed, Mar 7, 2018, 11:15 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Mar 07, Colombo: The Chairman and the members of the Office on Missing Persons (OMP) have met with the Chairman of the Constitutional Council, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya and other members to explain the present activities of the OMP with the objective of receiving necessary guidance on the future directions.

Chairman of the Constitutional Council, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, said the Office on Missing Persons is a statutory institution established by the parliament under Act No: 14 of 2016 and has a great responsibility and a duty to a civilized society.

The Speaker said that the main responsibility of the OMP is to find the truth about the missing persons for the families that are hoping to be heard about their loved ones.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya said that the OMP, which is committed to an important national service without discriminating on ethnicity, religion and political differences, will have same legal independence as the Human Rights Commission or Right to Information Commission.

Pointing out that the building facilities needed to run the activities of the OMP should be promptly provided, the Speaker said as the chairman of the Constitutional Council he will instruct the Public Administration Ministry and the Treasury to act expeditiously.

The Chairman of the Constitutional Council expressed his confidence that the OMP respecting the sentiments of the people would be able to mete justice and fairness and ensure the people's right to live without fear.

The following is the list of participants in today's meeting.

1. Hon. Karu Jayasuriya, Chairman, Constitutional Council
2. Hon. R. Sampanthan, Leader of the Opposition in Parliament, Member, Constitutional Council
3. Hon. W.D.J. Senewiratne, Member, Constitutional Council
4. Dr. A.T Ariyaratne, Member, Constitutional Council
5. Mr. Shibly Aziz, PC, Member, Constitutional Council
6. Dr (Ms.) Radhika Coomaraswamy, Member, Constitutional Council
7. Mr. Saliya K. M. Pieris, PC, Chairman, OMP
8. Dr. Sriyani Nimalka Fernando, Member, OMP
9. Mr. Mirak Raheem, Member, OMP
10. Mr. Kanapathipillai Venthan, Member, OMP
11. Major General Mohanti Antonette Maltidevi Pieris (Retd), Member, OMP
12. Mrs. Punniyamoorthy Jeyatheepa, Member, OMP
13. Mr. S. K. Liyanage, Member, OMP
14. Ms Chandima Wickramasinghe, Senior Assistant Secretary, Presidential Secretariat
15. Mr Ibrahim Ansar, Advisor, UN & Intl affairs Coordinating unit, SCRM
16. Mr Tharaka Hettiarachchi, Director, UN & Intl affairs Coordinating unit, SCRM
17. Mr. V. Sivagnanasothy, Secretary, Ministry of National Integration & Reconciliation
18. Mr J. J. Ratnasiri, Secretary, Ministry of Public Administration & Management
19. Ms. Nalani Amaratunga, Director, Department of National Budget, Ministry of Finance
20. Mr. H G Sumanasinghe, Director General, Department of Management Services, Ministry of Finance
21. Mrs. A. Vaidehi, Director, Ministry of National Integration & Reconciliation


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Sri Lanka's Colombo Port reports 28.8% increase in cruise ship arrivals
-- [5 hours ago]
President to obtain SC verdict without delay - MP Wimal Weerawansa
-- [6 hours ago]
Sri Lanka President emphasizes implementing death penalty for drug traffickers
-- [8 hours ago]
ICC suspends Sri Lanka off-spinner Akila Dananjaya after his bowling action of found to be illegal
-- [9 hours ago]
Sri Lanka-Singapore FTA signed without proper consent: President
-- [9 hours ago]
Norway partners with UNDP Sri Lanka to support peace, justice and strong institutions
FR petition filed in Supreme Court challenging Speaker's decision to convene parliament
Sri Lanka tea estate workers continue strike for the seventh day
Sri Lanka President ready to accept the top court verdict with respect
Five ministry secretaries to be summoned before parliamentary committees for questioning

Copyright © 2000, 2016 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.