Lankapage Logo CP 18 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Sri Lanka parliament commemorates 70th Anniversary of Parliamentary Democracy
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 08:18 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Oct 03, Colombo: A special Sitting of Parliament was held today (Oct 03rd) to commemorate the 70th Anniversary of Parliamentary Democracy in Sri Lanka.

At the commencement of Public Business, the Prime Minister and the Leader of the opposition in Parliament moved a Vote to recognize the occasion of the special sitting.

"That this Parliament at its meeting today commemorates with pride the 70th anniversary of its first meeting as an independent Parliament and notes that Parliament of Sri Lanka is the oldest Parliament elected by universal adult franchise in the Asia region with an unbroken record of democratic governance and wishes for itself and the people of Sri Lanka a prosperity, development and further strengthening of democratic traditions, principles and rule of law," it said.

The speeches began with the President Maithripala Sirisena and was followed with speeches by the Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Leader of the Opposition R. Sampanthan, Leader of the House Minister Lakshman Kiriella, Chief Government Whip Minister Gayantha Karunathilaka, Chief Opposition Whip Anura Kumara Dissanayake, and the leaders of the recognized political parties in Parliament. The Speaker Karu Jayasuriya delivered the Vote of Thanks.

Speakers of the Parliaments of the SAARC countries who are in Sri Lanka to participate in the 8th conference of the Association of SAARC Speakers and Parliamentarians were present at the Speaker's Gallery to witness the occasion.

The first Parliament in Sri Lanka, known as "House of Representatives", met for the first time on the 14th of October 1947 at the State Council building (Old Parliament Building) in Colombo. It consisted of 101 Members, of which 95 were elected by universal suffrage and 6 were nominated by the Governor-General.

The First Parliament of Sri Lanka (then Ceylon) was bicameral consisting of two chambers known as the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate was abolished in 1971 and the House of Representatives was replaced with the unicameral National State Assembly in 1972 when the first republican constitution was enacted.

With the promulgation of the second republican constitution on 7th of September 1978, the First Parliament of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka superseded the Second National State Assembly.


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Supreme Court indefinitely postpones decision on former chief Justice's petition on PC election act
-- [1 hour and 38 minutes ago]
Prime Minister criticizes media for publishing fabricated news
-- [2 hours ago]
Northern protesters meet President for discussions on Tamil prisoners
-- [3 hours ago]
Indonesian Naval Ship arrives at Sri Lanka port on a goodwill mission
-- [3 hours ago]
Human Rights Watch makes submission concerning Sri Lanka's military occupation of schools to UN Committee on the Rights of the Child
-- [4 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Multi-Day trawlers catch over 14,000 kg of tuna in deep sea fishing
-- [4 hours ago]
Sri Lankan President calls on journalists to present truth
-- [5 hours ago]
Sri Lanka to launch national program to eradicate all forms of poverty by 2030
-- [6 hours ago]
Pakistan Foreign Secretary launches Pakistan Alumni Society of Sri Lanka
-- [7 hours ago]
Mobitel launches South Asia's first NB-IoT Network at Techno 2017 in Sri Lanka
-- [7 hours ago]

Copyright © 2000, 2016 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.