Lankapage Logo CP 18 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Sri Lanka Central Bank establishes Department of Foreign Exchange to Implement the Foreign Exchange Act
Sat, Nov 25, 2017, 11:45 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Nov 25, Colombo: With a view to further liberalizing capital flows and simplifying the processes associated with current account transactions and various types of foreign currency/Rupee accounts, the Government declared in its Budget Proposals for 2016, that a new foreign exchange law will be introduced.

In keeping with this announcement, a new legislative and policy framework for foreign exchange operations has been introduced by the Foreign Exchange Act, No. 12 of 2017 with effect from November 20, 2017, repealing the Exchange Control Act, No. 24 of 1953. Provisions of the new Act are being implemented through the newly established Department of Foreign Exchange in the Central Bank of Sri Lanka.

Relevant Regulations and Orders made under the new Act by the Minister of National Policies and Economic Affairs have been published in the Gazette Notification No. 2045/56 dated November 17, 2017, while Directions have been issued to Authorized Dealers (Licensed Commercial Banks) by the Director of Department of Foreign Exchange on November 20, 2017.

For more information refer to the website or contact the Department of Foreign Exchange on following telephone numbers.

Tel: 011-2477433 - Additional Director
011-2477207/248/375 - Deputy Directors
011-2398641 - Policy and Research Division
011-2477358/651 - Capital Transactions Division


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::