Lankapage Logo CP 17 YEARS
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Sri Lanka parliament appoint members to committees at the first sitting of Constitutional Assembly
Wed, Apr 6, 2016, 11:49 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Apr 06, Colombo: Sri Lanka parliament for the first time convened as a Constitutional Assembly yesterday to take the initial steps necessary to draft a new constitution.

The first sitting of the Constitutional Assembly was held on Tuesday the 5th of April 2016 in the Parliament Chamber with the Speaker of the Parliament Karu Jayasuriya presiding over the first sitting of the Assembly.

At the first sitting of the Constitutional Assembly seven Deputy Chairmen were elected to preside over the Assembly meetings in the absence of the Chairman.

A Steering Committee consisting of twenty one members were appointed and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe was unanimously appointed as the Chairman of the Steering Committee.

The Constitutional Assembly was thereafter, adjourned sine die. Subsequently, the first meeting of the Steering Committee was held in the Parliamentary Complex under the chairmanship of the Prime Minister.

Seven (07) elected Deputy Chairmen of the Assembly are as follows:-

1.  Thilanga Sumathipala
2.  Selvam Adaikkalanathan
3.  Kabir Hashim
4.  (Dr.) (Mrs.) Sudarshini Fernandopulle
5.  Tilak Marapana
6.  Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena
7.  (Dr.) Nalinda Jayathissa

Twenty One (21) Members appointed to the Steering Committee of the Assembly are as follows:-

1.  Ranil Wickremesinghe
2.  Lakshman Kiriella
3.  Nimal Siripala de Silva
4.  Rauff Hakeem
5.  (Dr.)Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe
6.  A. D. Susil Premajayantha
7.  Rishad Bathiudeen
8.  Patali Champika Ranawaka
9.  D. M. Swaminathan
10.  Mano Ganesan
11.  Malik Samarawickrama
12.  Rajavarothiam Sampanthan
13.  Anura Dissanayaka
14.  Dilan Perera
15.  Dinesh Gunawardena
16.  (Dr.)Jayampathy Wickramaratne
17.  M. A. Sumanthiran
18.  (Dr.) (Mrs.)Thusitha Wijemanna
19.  Bimal Rathnayake
20.  Prasanna Ranatunga
21.  Douglas Devananda


ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Sri Lanka, Pakistan target US$ 1 billion trade by 2018
-- [2 hours ago]
Sri Lanka calls for proposals for 90 solar projects of 1MW capacity each
-- [2 hours ago]
Sri Lanka takes disaster minimizing steps to reduce landslide risks
-- [2 hours ago]
Election Commission requests political parties to include more youth candidates for LG elections
-- [3 hours ago]
Malaysian national arrested for smuggling foreign currency worth over Rs. 54 million
-- [4 hours ago]
Sri Lanka encourages local entrepreneurs to enter global markets
-- [4 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Marxist party says President will be defeated if he contests again for presidency
Prime Minister pledges to pay off Rs. 3 trillion foreign debt within next two years
No need for a new Constitution, Sri Lanka Buddhist prelates decide
Local Government election date is uncertain - PAFFREL

Copyright © 2000, 2016 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.