Lankapage Logo Recent Top Stories
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Disillusioned supporters of Sri Lanka President form a new front with UNP to contest parliamentary elections
Sat, Jul 11, 2015, 12:54 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

July 11, Colombo: Members of the United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA), who were opposed to allowing the former president Mahinda Rajapaksa to be nominated to contest the upcoming general elections, have allied with the United national Party to form a new front.

Several SLFP stalwarts and former UPFA constituent party, Jathika Hela Urumaya (JHU) which was recently renamed as the United National Front for Good Governance along with several others leftist parties have formed a new front with the United National Party to contest the upcoming election.

The group includes the former ministers M. K. D. S. Gunawardena, Rajitha Senaratne, and Arjuna Ranatunga who supported the President Sirisena at the presidential elections in January.

The new front, National Front for Good Governance led by the UNP will however, contest the August 17 elections under the elephant symbol.

The decision was officially announced Saturday and a proposal was presented at the UNP party convention that is being held at the Campbell Park this morning to contest as a broad front for the election.

The UNP proposed setting up the front and later agreed to register the United National Front after the August 17 Parliament election.

Minister Gunawardena said that the President has been informed that he along with Ministers Rajitha Senaratne and Arjuna Ranatunga would withdraw from the SLFP and contest along with the UNP at the forthcoming election. Reportedly, eight more MPs were to take a similar decision.

Gunawardena said that Minister Champika Ranawaka and Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera will also likely to contest from the UNP.

The main Muslim party Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) and the newly formed Tamil Progressive Alliance have also decided to contest the election with the UNP.

Besides the three ministers, Western Provincial Councilor Hirunika Premachandra, MPs Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Hemal Gunasekera, Neomal Perera, Wijaya Dahanayake, Earl Gunasekara, Sarath Amunugama and Duminda Dissanayake have reportedly not yet signed UPFA nominations.

The group had become disillusioned with the President after he had allowed the UPFA to give nominations not only to former president Mahinda Rajapaksa but also to MPs and ministers of the former government who were charged with corruption and fraud.


Recommended Articles in ColomboPage ::
ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories ::
Sri Lankan government to limit expenditures at all ministries
-- [4 minutes ago]
Hector Kobbekaduwa Agrarian Research Institute assigned to find a solution for crop damage by wild animals
-- [44 minutes ago]
Report of President accusing India of assassination plot is a deliberate attempt - Minister Samarasinghe
-- [59 minutes ago]
Sri Lankan PM arrives in India for a three-day official visit
-- [1 hour and 26 minutes ago]
French financial assistance to Sri Lanka to implement second Tranche of Green Power Development Program
-- [2 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Finance Minister reveals oil price formula
-- [2 hours ago]
Sri Lanka Speaker instructs to minimize food wastage in parliament
-- [3 hours ago]
BOI says Director General has not resigned
-- [4 hours ago]
Sri Lanka to award contract to construct 100 MW wind power plant to Denmark's Vesta
Tamil Nadu CM writes to Indian PM seeking immediate release of 16 fishermen from Sri Lanka custody

Copyright © 2000, 2015 by (LLC) :
The news and other contents on ColomboPage are copyrighted property of, LLC. Any unauthorized use of any information on ColomboPage may constitute a violation of copyright laws. You need written permission to reproduce, republish, post, transmit, broadcast or distribute, material from this site from, LLC. However, news organizations or broadcasters in Sri Lanka may republish the news items in ColomboPage with proper acknowledgment to ColomboPage.