Lankapage Logo Recent Top Stories
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Change in top posts in state media institutes in Sri Lanka
Wed, May 5, 2010, 08:54 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

May 05, Colombo: Sri Lanka government has made several changes in the top posts of the state media, government sources say.

The independent presidential candidate Sarath Kongahage who supported the President Mahinda Rajapaksa in his run for the second term will assume duty as the Chairman of the state television Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation (SLRC) tomorrow.

Outgoing Chairman and senior lecturer in Mass Communication Dr. Ariyarathna Athugala has been appointed as the as the new Director-General of Information of the Department of Government Information.

Dr. Athugala replaces Anusha Palpita who will relinquish his duties as the current Director General of Information tomorrow (May 06) to assume duties as Director General of the Telecommunication Regulatory Commission (TRC).

The Secretary of the Ministry of Mass Media and Communication W.B. Ganegala is to act as the Chairman of the Independent Television Network fully owned by state.

Senior radio broadcaster Hudson Samarasinghe has been re-appointed as the Chairman of Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation, sources say.

Sources also said that a change of the top post in state-owned print media organization Associated Newspapers Limited can be expected.

ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories

Warning: require(/home/vesamuni/public_html/DB/latest_10.php) [function.require]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/58/7376258/html/archive_10/May1273073064CH.php on line 193

Fatal error: require() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/vesamuni/public_html/DB/latest_10.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/content/58/7376258/html/archive_10/May1273073064CH.php on line 193