Advertising Editor's Blog Archive / Search SL Breaking News Disclaimer About Us
Lankapage Logo Recent Top Stories
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* President appoints secretaries to ministries, government to assign ministry roles
Sun, Apr 25, 2010, 09:48 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Apr 25, Colombo: Sri Lanka President Mahinda Rajapaksa today appointed Secretaries to the government ministries. The most notables at the event that took place at the Temple Trees were the Finance Secretary Dr. P.B. Jayasundara and Defence Secretary Gotabhaya Rajapaksa.

Secretary to the President, Lalith Weeratunga, and Additional Secretary to the President Gamini Senarath were also present.

Meanwhile, a gazette notification assigning the responsibilities allocated for the new ministries is to be released next week, President's Secretary Lalith Weeratunga said.

The President's Secretary said the problems arose in the previous administration when allocating responsibilities to the ministries due to the large size of the cabinet.

The government is considering the establishment of a separate unit to coordinate the ministries, Weeratunga added.

(Pictures by Chandana Perera)

The Secretary to Ministry of ::

Dhara Wijetilake               Science and Technology.
Dr. P.B. Jayasundera           Economic Development.
W.B. Ganegala                  Mass Media and Information.
Malkanthi Wickramasinghe       National Languages and Social Integration is .
Suhada Gamlath                 Justice.
M.M.C. Ferdinando              Power and Energy.
Mahinda Madihewa               Labour Relations and Productivity Promotion.
Thilak Kollure                 Industry and Commerce is .
A.H. Gamage                    Livestock and Community Development is .
Gothabaya Rajapaksa            Ministry of Defence.
S. Liyanagama                  Sports.
Ashoka Peiris                  Land and land Development.
A.Dissanayake                  Rehabilitation and Prison Reforms.
Nishanka Wijeratne             Construction, Engineering Services, Housing and Common Amenities.
Sita Witanarachchi             Parliamentary Affairs.
Malani Peiris                  Plantation Industries.
Ivan De Silva                  Irrigation and Water Resources Management.
Ranjith de Silva               Ports and Civil Aviation.
A. Abegunasekera               Water Supply and Drainage.
Retired Admiral W. Karannagoda Ministry of Highways.
P.W.C. Jayatillake             Posts and Telecommunications.
Wimal Rubasinghe               National Heritage and Cultural Affairs.
Ashoka Jayasekera              Buddhasassana and Religious Affairs.
Dr. Damitha De Soysa           Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development.
Dr. R.H.S. Samaratunga         Environment.
B.B. Dahanayake                Indigenous Medicine.
The Secretary                  Yamuna Chitrangani.
N.R. Gunasekera                Child Development and Women’s Affairs.
Dr. T.R.C. Ruberu              Health Ministry.
S.S. Hewapathirana             Youth Affairs Ministry.
H.T.N. Jayawardena             Petroleum Industries.
Dr. Nihal Jayatillake          Local Government and Provincial Councils Ministry.
Anura Siriwardena              Cooperatives and Internal Trade.
Willie Gamage                  State Resources and Enterprise Development.
Marina Mohamed                 Disaster Management.
P.B. Abeykoon                  State Management and Reforms.

ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories

Warning: require(/home/vesamuni/public_html/DB/latest_10.php) [function.require]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/58/7376258/html/archive_10/Apr1272212307CH.php on line 228

Fatal error: require() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/vesamuni/public_html/DB/latest_10.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/content/58/7376258/html/archive_10/Apr1272212307CH.php on line 228