Advertising Editor's Blog Archive / Search SL Breaking News Disclaimer About Us
Lankapage Logo Recent Top Stories
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* Elections Secretariat to issue list of new parliamentarians today
Mon, Apr 12, 2010, 12:39 am SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Apr 12, Colombo: Sri Lanka Elections Secretariat is making arrangements to issue a special Gazette notification today listing the names of parliamentarians elected in the general election held on Thursday April 8.

According to the results so far issued, a total of 180 parliamentarians have been elected. Another 16 members are to be elected following the results of the re-poll to be conducted on April 20 in the disputed electorates in Kandy and Trincomalee districts.

The ruling party United people's Freedom Alliance so far has 117 members. The opposition United national party has won 46 seats while the Ilangai Thamil Arasu Katchchi has secured 12 seats and the Democratic National Alliance has won 5.

Following the re-poll to be held at Nawalapitiya in kandy District and Kumburupiddiin Trincomalee District another notification will be issued with the additional names including those of the national list, the Secretariat said.

ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories

Warning: require(/home/vesamuni/public_html/DB/latest_10.php) [function.require]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/58/7376258/html/archive_10/Apr1271012947CH.php on line 183

Fatal error: require() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/vesamuni/public_html/DB/latest_10.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/content/58/7376258/html/archive_10/Apr1271012947CH.php on line 183