Advertising Editor's Blog Archive / Search SL Breaking News Disclaimer About Us
Lankapage Logo Recent Top Stories
Go Home Home Serving the Sri Lankan community globally since 2000
go to

Leading News from Sri Lanka::

* UPFA's Wimal and UNP's Ranil lead Colombo District preferential votes lists
Sat, Apr 10, 2010, 07:21 pm SL Time, ColomboPage News Desk, Sri Lanka.

Apr 10, Colombo: Sri Lanka's National Freedom Front leader Wimal Weerawansa has topped the ruling party UPFA's preferential votes list with 280,672 votes.

In the UPFA list, candidates R. Duminda Silva and Minister Patali Champika Ranawaka clinched the second and third slots with 146,336 and 120,333 preferential votes, respectively.

Dinesh Gunawardena, Bandula Gunawardena, Thilanga Sumathipala, Susil Premajayantha, A.H.M. Fowzie, Jeevan Kumaranatunga and Gamini Lokuge are the others in the UPFA list.

In the opposition, UNP Leader Ranil Wickremasinghe obtaining 230,957 votes led the UNP's preferential votes list in the Colombo district. He was followed by Ravi Karunanayaka, Mohan Lal Grero, Rosie Senanayake, Wijayadasa Rajapaksa, Sujeewa Senasinghe and Prabha Ganeshan.

The Marxist alliance, DNA leader and former Sri Lanka Army Commander retired General Sarath Fonseka who is in military custody contesting the election received 98,456 votes. JVP member Sunil Handunnetti has also won a seat.

ColomboPage - Recent 10 Stories

Warning: require(/home/vesamuni/public_html/DB/latest_10.php) [function.require]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/58/7376258/html/archive_10/Apr1270907505JV.php on line 187

Fatal error: require() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/vesamuni/public_html/DB/latest_10.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/content/58/7376258/html/archive_10/Apr1270907505JV.php on line 187